old favorite

wizard

wizard2

This book carries very many special memories for me. I read it for the first time exactly 5 years ago for 9th grade English class. I had been an aspiring writer with a burning, serious passion for writing novels, but I didn’t know what to write or where I wanted to go with my ideas — and this book completely changed me. Suddenly I had a genre to love, an author to admire, a series to obsess over, and my writing blossomed. I re-read it every spring to celebrate my anniversary of discovering true inspiration, the place I can continually return to if I need a reminder of how to do the writer’s craft. Thank you, Ursula K. Le Guin, for making me the writer that I am today, and for providing me with a role model for the kind of writer I hope to become. I love you!

5 thoughts on “old favorite

      • Lavinia…a novel about Aeneas’ wife from the Aeniad. Interesting but sometimes it’s hard to follow because she goes into the dream world a lot.

        Like

      • I liked that one! (I’m a classics major, so reading a book written by my favorite author about my favorite subject was pure heaven.) But it is definitely confusing at times with all the flashbacks and dream sequences she put in. I still thought it was pretty well done; maybe not as good as some of her older novels though.

        Like

Leave a Reply

