Photography advice?

Hello lovelies! Thank you all for following my blog, especially those of you who leave such lovely likes and comments; I appreciate it from the bottom of my heart. I was wondering if I could quickly reach out to the other photographers on here for some advice — I’d like to do a photoshoot showcasing leather but am unsure what setting/lighting would be best. Strong sunlight? Mild sunlight? Would capturing the leather in motion be the best way to showcase its texture? And what would be good techniques for capturing motion in general?

Thanks again~

Bella Noctis

5 thoughts on “Photography advice?

  1. Well, to make a epic photo shot, the best thing to do is be creative. Try and experiment, but the main thing to do is keep the light to a minimum; try and keep the light in the middle. Not only there’ll be more colour in the pictures but you can the main object more focused.

    I cannot wait to see your photos; sounds like you are a very keen photographer. πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. By no means I am an expert in photography but i remember myself one time trying to photograph my own camera lens kit (seriously!) and the problems I had with the shadows cast by the subject on the background. I think you ought to take the pictures in an environment where you can control light, a studio may come in handy. If you do not have the budget to rent a studio perhaps you can use the sun light directed to your subject with inexpensive light reflectors (you can pick one up from any photo gear shop for under 50 I guess). But, before sending you to spend any money just try a few shots without any special lighting equipment (ask your friend to turn on the car lights?). Don’t forget to check the white balance settings to get a natural look. If you want to emphasis on the texture, have your subject still and I think a macro lens would be suitable for this kind of shot. Hope it helps πŸ™‚ Ah, thanks for passing by! πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Thanks for your comment πŸ™‚ I will have to experiment with different light settings and see what turns out interesting. I never thought of macro for leather — that would probably look quite good. Shadows are frustrating. I’ve often had otherwise good photoshoots ruined by shadows.

      Like

Leave a Reply

