nightmare [poetry]

I saw you with me

long arms around my waist

as we overlooked the harbor

your shoulders outlined against bright sky

black eyes contemplating the ocean’s blue skin

shivering under sunlight

sunlight spilling over my face, my open neck

buttons on my black dress

undone either by your hand or mine

I was holding you and being held by you

tumbling in your arms, laughing,

golden hair embraced by wind

I looked beautiful:

red mouth smiling

slender waist bending

soft hands reaching

sweet voice dancing

and then I realized it was not me

you were holding another girl

laughing with her

breathing sunlight into her throat

kissing her bare skin

and I was cold

and alone

7 thoughts on “nightmare [poetry]

Leave a Reply

