Sources of Inspiration #2 Lily Allen

I hope that all of you enjoyed reading my first post in this series about musicians and composers to whom I turn when my spirit needs a pick-me-up or simply wants to indulge in artistic revelry. I’m quite happy to be writing another such post today, this time featuring English pop singer Lily Allen. At first glance, we might initially overlook her songs as simply being mainstream pop music fluff, but if we give her songs a closer look and listen to her words, we realize that in reality they are witty and perceptive digs at society’s flaws, wrongdoings, and prejudices. She sings about getting revenge against cheating boyfriends, flips the middle finger at the narrowminded masses of the world, and calls the music industry out on its misogyny and double standards–all while wearing her finest Sunday dresses and smiling that knowing, imperturbable smile. I love how Lily Allen wraps her cutting lyrics into sugary packages, with gentle vocals and upbeat melodies, which makes the deliverance of her criticisms even more beautifully potent, graced with strong-willed femininity and just the right dose of ironic sarcasm. If Lily Allen doesn’t represent “life goals”, I don’t know who does!

2 thoughts on “Sources of Inspiration #2 Lily Allen

  1. I’ve been listening to more of Lily’s music and I have to say I’m totally in love with Somewhere Only We Know. That’s a beautiful song, in every sense of the word. 🙂

    In fact, I’m going to admit that it made me cry.

    Yeah, I said it.

    I’m man enough to cry. lol

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

