I’ve returned to my heart’s garden [poetry]

solitude where there had once been silent breath

a million faces under milky sky

purple hyacinth and evergreen

and the frosted fragrance of open dreams

retraining vines to grow differently

reteaching limbs to reach for stars

untouched by clouds’ sweep

thorns wrapped in broken leaves

dusted by lonesome wind

picking through tepid memories

and opaque glass

cuts bleed and blood pools

under bare feet

a million sunsets and sunrises I’d walked in darkness

following empty footsteps

and now sunlight aches on open buds, open wounds

lifting my neck to heaven

I bleed

but my heart still beats

3 thoughts on “I’ve returned to my heart’s garden [poetry]

Leave a Reply

